blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: Summer at Orchard House – Ellyn Oaksmith*

The Alvarez sisters have grown up and moved away—but now their dad is in crisis, the family business is collapsing and it’s time to go home to Lake Chelan.

Carmen Alvarez is the reliable one. When her vulnerable father’s livelihood is threatened, she’s the person her sisters call. Abandoning her job in Seattle, Carmen races home to the family vineyard her dad built up from nothing to set things straight. But soon she’s fallen back in love with the dusty sage hills, the turquoise blue lake, the fragrant June orchards… Maybe she’s not just home for the summer?
Standing in the way of Carmen’s happiness is one very attractive obstacle: new neighbor Evan Hollister, who’s after her dad’s land. He’s arrogant, entitled and spoiled—everything Carmen hates—and she is all set to have a bit of fun driving him out of town so things can get back to normal. She isn’t ready for their relationship to get complicated…
But Evan is the least of Carmen’s worries. The business is falling apart and it starts to look like Carmen might lose much more than just her pride: employees have quit, the bank keeps calling and everything her father worked so hard for is slipping away. As she is pushed to breaking point, Carmen will learn that her true family are the people who will see her through the worst of times, and that love can be found in the most unlikely of places.

A heart-warming romance about embracing the unexpected, Summer at Orchard House will make you laugh, make you cry, and remind you that it’s never too late to start again. For fans of Robyn Carr, Carolyn Brown and Debbie Macomber.

Ellyn Oaksmith is a USA Today and Kindle bestselling author. After graduating from The American Film Institute, Ellyn was a screenwriter in Hollywood, pitching movies, rewriting scripts and navigating the Los Angeles freeways before Google Maps. Meeting movie stars was a fun and surreal perk.

Ellyn’s first book was published by Avon/Harper Collins. Other contemporary romances with smart, ambitious heroines followed.
Ellyn lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and their polydactyl cat, Forest. Ellyn is an avid competitive rower.

My thoughts:

This was a heartwarming story of family and love set in a sun drenched vineyard on the Pacific coast of America.

Carmen was a strong protagonist and the bond with her sisters and best friend is vital to the plot. I loved the elderly church ladies and Crystal the goat herder, as well as Carmen’s Papi, a kind gentle man suffering from Alzheimer’s and slowly sinking into the past.

Evan, at first, seems the typical tech playboy, keen to get his own way whatever the cost, but he grows as a person and becomes more likeable as the plot progresses, although Barry the dog is easily the best character.

An enjoyable summer read, perfect for the long evenings.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in this blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

1 thought on “Blog Tour: Summer at Orchard House – Ellyn Oaksmith*”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s