books, reviews

Book Review: Shiver – Allie Reynolds*

They don’t know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.
When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can’t seem to let go.
The five friends haven’t seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don’t know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.
In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

My thoughts:

This was a clever and intense thriller set on a glacier at an empty ski lodge out of season. Saskia’s disappearance ten years ago during an international competition was never solved, and now her friends and her brother have been lured back to the scene of the crime to answer some questions. One of them is a killer, but who?

Moving between the events ten years previously and the present, the plot slowly unravels the petty jealousies and competitive viciousness between the group as they prepare to compete in a big snowboarding competition.

But who lured them to the lodge and what secrets are they keeping?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s