blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: The Wedding – Ruth Heald*

Just four words were printed in the card. He doesn’t love you.

I’ve been dreaming about this day – marrying Adam, my childhood sweetheart, who I’ve loved for eighteen years.

I didn’t realise the perfect day would turn into the perfect nightmare.I was so excited to send out the wedding invitations, carefully writing everyone’s names on thick cream paper in beautiful cursive script.

I had no idea I was inviting someone to destroy our marriage.I couldn’t wait to say ‘I do’ surrounded by loved ones clinking champagne glasses.

I couldn’t imagine that one of them would try to hurt me.It was meant to be the first day of the rest of our lives.I never thought it would be the end of my life as I knew it.We were meant to share our vows, to toast our future.

But when the truth comes out, shocking the onlooking guests and ripping my heart out, is a happy ever after possible?

A completely gripping and totally addictive read that will get your blood pressure rising and send shivers down your spine.

Fans of Date Night, The Sister-in-Law and The Girl on the Train will devour this twisty, dark and gasp-worthy page-turner in one swift gulp!

Amazon Apple Kobo Google

Ruth Heald is a psychological thriller writer from a suburban Buckinghamshire town.

She studied Economics at Oxford and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting.

Seeking a more creative environment, she found a role at the BBC and worked there for nine years before leaving to write full time.

Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with one daughter and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

Twitter

My thoughts:

This was totally gripping, and I could not work out who was stalking and terrifying Lauren leading up to her wedding. There were so many red herrings and suspects everywhere.

I remember planning my wedding, stress central, I can’t imagine doing it while also creeped out of my mind with weird dolls and threatening letters, I’d have just completely panicked. Lauren holds herself together pretty well, but as an A&E doctor I suppose she’s good at controlling her emotions under pressure.

Adam on the other hand is pretty hopeless, he doesn’t really put much effort into supporting her, or dealing with his mistakes. Bit of a wet blanket really.

This was so good and compelling, Ruth Heald is a master at keeping the suspense up and the reader guessing.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s