blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: Anthrax Island – D.L. Marshall*

FACT: In 1942, in growing desperation at the progress of the war and fearing invasion by the Nazis, the UK government approved biological weapons tests on British soil. Their aim: to perfect an anthrax weapon destined for Germany. They succeeded.

FACT: Though the attack was never launched, the testing ground, Gruinard Island, was left lethally contaminated. It became known as Anthrax Island.

Now government scientists have returned to the island. They become stranded by an equipment failure and so John Tyler is flown in to fix the problem. He quickly discovers there’s more than research going on. When one of the scientists is found impossibly murdered inside a sealed room, Tyler realises he’s trapped with a killer…

A gripping thriller that will leave you guessing until the final page. Perfect for fans of Terry Hayes, James Swallow and Alistair MacLean.

Amazon UK Amazon US

D. L. Marshall was born and raised in Halifax, West Yorkshire. Influenced by the dark industrial architecture, steep wooded valleys, and bleak Pennine moors, he writes thrillers tinged with horror, exploring the impact of geography and isolation. In 2016 he pitched at Bloody Scotland. In 2018 he won a Northern Writers’ Award for his thriller novel Anthrax Island.

Twitter Instagram

My thoughts:

This was a clever, dark and gritty thriller. On a small island off the coast of Scotland, the killer can only be one of the people already there, but who is it?

Tyler is an asset of the government but one they can deny exists, he’s been tasked to find out what’s going on, while avoiding getting exposed to one of the deadly strains of anthrax still present on the island.

I’m a big fan of these sort of stories – Agatha Christie had everyone in a country house but modern versions employ various isolated locations. It’s always interesting to see how people develop their relationships when you can’t trust anyone but need an ally.

Adding in the risk of exposure to a deadly bacteria heightens the tension – what does the killer want and who are they working for?

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in this blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

1 thought on “Blog Tour: Anthrax Island – D.L. Marshall*”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s