blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: The Ladies Midnight Swimming Club – Faith Hogan*

Three women. Three different stages of life. United by one thing: the chance to start again.

‘Uplifting, emotional and brimming with warmth and humour’ – Cathy Bramley

When Elizabeth’s husband dies, leaving her with crippling debt, the only person she can turn to is her friend, Jo. Soon Jo has called in her daughter, Lucy, to help save
Elizabeth from bankruptcy. Leaving her old life behind, Lucy is determined to make the most of her fresh start.
As life slowly begins to return to normal, these three women, thrown together by circumstance, become fast friends. But then Jo’s world is turned upside down when she receives some shocking news.
In search of solace, Jo and Elizabeth find themselves enjoying midnight dips in the freezing Irish Sea. Here they can laugh, cry and wash away all their fears. As well as conjure a fundraising plan for the local hospice that will bring the whole community together…

From bestselling Irish writer Faith Hogan, The Ladies’ Midnight Swimming Club is an emotional story about finding new friends and living life to the fullest, that will appeal to fans of Sheila O’Flanagan, Heidi Swain and Liz Fenwick.

Amazon Kobo Google Play Apple
Bookshop.org Waterstones Easons (Ireland only):


Faith Hogan is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of five contemporary fiction novels. Her books have featured as Book Club Favorites, Net Galley Hot Reads and Summer Must Reads. She writes grown up women’s fiction which is
unashamedly uplifting, feel good and inspiring.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

Facebook Twitter Website

My thoughts: this was a lovely, heartwarming story of family and friendship. Do have the tissues handy as there is a weepy bit.

Set in a small village in Western Ireland, the story revolves around the recently widowed Elizabeth and her friend Jo, the founder of the Ladies’ Midnight Swimming Club. As Elizabeth adjusts to her new life, Jo’s daughter and grandson move to the village, looking to make a change.

I loved the characters, Elizabeth experiences a late blossoming after her husband dies and finds a new purpose, Jo is a delight, always full of joy. Lucy, Jo’s daughter, is a great addition to their gang and the other characters, Dan and Niall, are always interesting.

The story is sweet and enjoyable, the women’s friendships, Niall’s coming out of his shell and Dan’s journey are all tender and touching.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s