blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: A Knot of Sparrows – Cheryl Rees-Price*

Welsh detective Winter Meadows takes on a new murder case.
There were a lot of things you could call Stacey Evans. And many of them would be true. And unprintable. But did she deserve to be murdered?
DI Winter Meadows has no doubt of the answer when he takes on the case.

The crime was violent.
The victim helpless. But the motives are many, and the only clue is a strange word left on Stacey’s body.
DI Meadows struggles to pierce the secrecy surrounding the teenager’s busy love life. Was the killer one of her pursuers acting out of jealousy? Maybe someone’s wife seeking revenge?


But as each suspect is excluded from the enquiry, and other markings turn up, Meadows is convinced that something more sinister is afoot.
When another body is found, a veil of silence descends like a fog upon Gaer Fawr. What more will it
take for the village to give up its secrets?

A KNOT OF SPARROWS is the fourth standalone title in a series of murder mysteries by best-selling
author Cheryl Rees-Price. It will appeal to fans of David Pearson, L J Ross, John Dean, Joy Ellis, and
Pippa McCathie.

  • The full list of books is as follows:
  • THE SILENT QUARRY
  • FROZEN MINDS
  • SUFFER THE CHILDREN
  • A KNOT OF SPARROWS
    Cheryl Rees-Price is also the author of the standalone thriller BLUE HOLLOW.
    All of these books are FREE with Kindle Unlimited and available in paperback from Amazon.

    Amazon UK
    Amazon US

Cheryl Rees-Price was born in Cardiff and moved as a young child to a small ex-mining village on the edge of the Black Mountain range, South Wales, where she still lives with her husband, daughters and cats. After leaving school she worked as a legal clerk for several years before leaving to raise her two daughters.
Cheryl returned to education, studying philosophy, sociology, and accountancy whilst working as a
part time book keeper. She now works as a finance director for a company that delivers project
management and accounting services.
In her spare time Cheryl indulges in her passion for writing, the success of writing plays for local performances gave her the confidence to write her first novel. Her other hobbies include walking and gardening which free her mind to develop plots and create colourful characters.

The Book Folks

Cheryl Rees-Price

Twitter

My thoughts: this was a solid police procedural crime thriller. The detectives were personable and easy to like as characters, none of them were a sort of Gene Hunt type, so I enjoyed following them as they solved the crimes and investigated the series of suspicious deaths in a village in Wales.

I did sort of guess the ending but it was very nicely done and the fact that they had so many suspects in some cases but virtually none in others made it interesting to see how a resolution could be reached and justice served.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s