blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: The Perfect Daughter – Alex Stone

The perfect daughter…
Jess Harper has spent her whole life trying to make her mum, Abigail happy and proud. And everything Jess does, from the clothes she wears, the job she has, the men she dates, are all approved by Abigail first.
The perfect boyfriend…
So when Jess announces that she has a new man in her life – plumber Adam – Abigail is less than impressed. ‘A plumber? Really, Jessica….’ Adam encourages Jess to break free from her mum’s manipulation, can’t she see what’s happening?
The perfect mother….
But Abigail is only doing these things to keep Jess safe, to protect her from getting hurt again…isn’t she?
Or the perfect liar?
Jess, caught in the middle, doesn’t know who to believe or trust. And then Adam vanishes without trace.
Now Jess is the police’s prime suspect and they want to know if Jess really is as perfect as she seems….
A gripping new psychological thriller for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and S.E.Lynes.
Amazon

About the Author
Alex Stone, originally an accountant from the West Midlands, is now a psychological suspense writer based in Dorset. This beautiful and dramatic coastline is the inspiration and setting for her novels.
She was awarded the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2019 and her debut thriller The Perfect Daughter will be published by Boldwood in October 2021.

Facebook Twitter Instagram

My thoughts: Jess has a monster for a mother, controlling, manipulative and cruel. Isolated from friends, with no one else to turn to. She meets Adam, who she starts to realise is very similar to her mum.

Then Adam disappears and Jess starts to question things that have happened in her past, her dad leaving, her only friend turning against her, the way her relationships fell apart. Her mother always telling her things were her fault. But what if they weren’t?

A dark, twisted psychological thriller about manipulation, gaslighting and finally seeing the truth. Gripping and clever, this was a highly enjoyable read and I rooted for Jess to find her way out of the lies and finally live for herself.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s