blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: The Second Marriage – Jess Ryder

‘They’re lying,’ my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. ‘They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive.’

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy. She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turn up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave. And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

What does Noah remember and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

Amazon Apple Kobo Google
Audible UK Audible US Listen to a sample here


Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer. After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime. Writing, that is. So she’s very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me. Her other big love is making pots.

Facebook Twitter

My thoughts: this was a gripping, complex thriller, it isn’t Edward’s first marriage Lily should be worried about, it’s the sheer volume of secrets and lies he’s got going on. Little Noah knows more than he’s willing to say, being terrified of his father, the ghastly duo of Georgia and Tara definitely have secrets too. I felt sorry for Lily, so naively trusting of a man who doesn’t deserve it. But when someone’s built such a convincing web of total misdirection and obfuscation what else can she do? Thankfully her best friend sees through him and together with Noah, she’s going to get the truth.

More proof, if it’s needed, that you shouldn’t marry someone you don’t really know.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s