blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: The Invite – Sheryl Brown

Kaitlin has been looking forward to her engagement party for weeks. She’s finally introducing her fiancé Greg to her best friend Zoe, but as the champagne corks pop, her dream party soon becomes her worst nightmare…

Staring at the stunning diamond solitaire on her finger, Kaitlin knows her relationship has been a whirlwind… but Greg looks after her, and he loves playing dad to her young daughter. How could she refuse when he’s already planned their romantic elopement?

As the guests arrive, Kaitlin wonders why Greg is suddenly acting so shifty. Is that a flicker of recognition on Zoe’s face? And why does she look terrified every time her phone rings?

Kaitlin watches as Zoe knocks back her white wine and makes a beeline for Greg. Then, after a heated conversation, her best friend stumbles outside without looking back.

Days later, the police knock at Kaitlin’s door – Zoe is missing.

When the police question Greg about the night of the party, Kaitlin knows he’s telling lies. But why would he? Can she really trust the man she’s marrying? And could her precious daughter’s life now be in danger too?

The Invite is an absolutely unmissable psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife. You’ll be hooked from the first page!

Amazon Apple Kobo Google

Audio:UK US

Listen to a sample here

Bestselling Author, Sheryl Browne, writes taut, twisty psychological thriller. A member of the Crime Writers’ Association and the Romantic Novelists’ Association, Sheryl has several books published and two short stories in Birmingham City University anthologies where she completed her MA in Creative Writing. Sheryl has also obtained a Certificate of Achievement in Forensic Science and – according to readers – she makes an excellent psychopath. Sheryl’s latest psychological thriller THE INVITE comes to you from BOOKOUTURE. Her previous works include the DI Matthew Adams Crime Thriller series, along with contemporary fiction novels, The Rest of My Life and Learning to Love. To find out more about Sheryl. go to www.sherylbrowne.com

My thoughts: this was very clever and also a bit confusing (I totally empathised with Kaitlin), there were several different suspicious characters and threats beyond the sudden disappearance of Zoe during Kaitlin’s party. Greg being suspicious, then there’s Zoe’s ex, Daniel, who isn’t who he claims to be, but neither Greg. Who can Kaitlin trust to find her missing friend and unravel this messy business and is her innocent daughter at risk too?

It all comes down to the old adage – the only man a girl can trust is her dad! Kaitlin’s parents are her rocks, supporting her all the way. She’s trying to find her way through this confusing maze of lies and half truths, feeling at a loss and suffering sudden heartbreak, can she forgive Greg? Will Zoe be ok? Well, I’m not telling.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

1 thought on “Blog Tour: The Invite – Sheryl Brown”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s